Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

Hello everyone 🙂

You have no idea how long I have been longing to hold this palette in my hands. As you’ll soon be able to tell, I am very much a ‘neutral eyes’ gal and when I saw Essie Button‘s review of this about a year ago, my eyes literally turned into big hearts. 

For some reason I kept delaying the purchase of the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette – maybe because of the £22 price tag? – but I last week I finally caved, and oh was it worth the splurge.

IMG_1797

 

The palette comes with six beautifully buttery and soft shades that blend perfectly – the qualities that Urban Decay eyeshadows are famous for. Here’s a rundown of each shade…

 

VENUS – The perfect highlight shade for the brow bone and inner corners. A shimmery white/champagne shade that’s not too glittery but gives a beautiful glow. (Also, the only non-matte shade in the palette).

FOXY – A matte yellow toned flesh colour, great for use as a base shadow. This is the only shade I don’t really use as my skin has more of a pink undertone, but it’ll be great for girls with warmer skin tones.

WALK OF SHAME – The cool toned version of Foxy, this is what I use for my base shadow. It’s also great for softening a smokey eye or a bold eyeshadow look.

NAKED 2 – The perfect matte light brown, great for softly defining the crease and for use as a transition shade.

FAINT – A darker a warmer toned matte brown which can be used to darken up the crease or all over the lid for a simple smokey eye.

CRAVE – Your basic matte black. I personally use this as an eyeliner on lazy days, but I tested it out for a smokey eye and it blends out really well – most matte blacks can be quite patchy to apply.

IMG_1799

 

Left – Right; CRAVE, FAINT, NAKED 2, W.O.S, FOXY and VENUS

(It’s hard to see the two flesh tones – they blend in too well!)

 

Overall I am completely sold on this palette – the packaging is compact with a handy mirror, the shadows blend beautifully and have a buttery texture, and the colours in the palette are my personal everyday essentials. I’ve even started using Naked 2 and Faint for my eyebrows.

Have any of you tried this palette? Let me know what you think about it in the comments – I’m interested!

 

Amy x

 

Where to find me;

Twitter – https://twitter.com/landb_blog

Instagram – http://instagram.com/amycarys_97

Tumblr – http://amy-wah.tumblr.com

Pinterest – http://uk.pinterest.com/amycarys97/

5 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked Basics Eyeshadow Palette

Leave a Reply

