Speaking up about Anxiety and Panic Attacks

Today is a different kind of post for me. I’ve always tried to keep my blog an upbeat and carefree place, but I think sometimes we all need to let off some steam and just talk about something real. It’s all worthwhile rambling on about the latest lipstick launch, but sometimes speaking up about something difficult is the best way to tackle it.

Although not many people know this about me, I suffer from anxiety and panic attacks. I’m not trying to gain sympathy or attention for this at all: I understand my disorder and am fighting as hard as I can to get through it, and I know full well that sometimes all I need is to know that I’m not the only one out there who is affected daily by anxiety.

I think one of the main problems about mental health is that people don’t understand it. Many are under the assumption that mental disorders are just for ‘crazy’ people and are rare. The truth? 1 in 4 people in the UK alone will be affected by a mental disorder in the course of a year, and many won’t even realise it.

For those of you who’ve never encountered strong forms of anxiety, here is a brief explanation that hopefully gives you an idea.

What is anxiety?

Anxiety is a feeling of worry, unease or fear, and affects people in many different ways. It can be helpful in small doses (we need it for moments of pressure, e.g. exams) but if it gets out of control anxiety can be a horrible thing to deal with.

How does it affect you?

As I said before, it can affect people very different ways. Personally, I feel sick or experience choking sensations, but some other physical symptoms include;

  • heavy, fast breathing
  • pounding heartbeat
  • chest pains
  • sweating
  • no appetite
  • feeling faint
  • stomach pains/’butterflies’

The important thing to note is that all of these symptoms are not real, but to the person having an anxiety attack they feel completely real and genuine. This makes it much harder to stay calm and releases feelings of panic, therefore leading to a panic attack.

And for those of you who know all too well the feeling of anxiety and panic, just know that you’re not alone. I found this quote above on pinterest and have saved it in my phone to look at whenever I’m feeling hopeless or anxious, and it really helps.

If you ever do feel alone, talk to someone. I know how difficult it is to make that first step, but however hard it is you will feel so much better just getting it off your chest. And if you’re not ready to tell a friend or family member about your worries then please feel free to contact me or any of the agencies listed below. I will always be happy to help 🙂

I hope that this post was useful for some of you, I’m not quite ready to talk about my own experiences yet but that’s perfectly fine with me. Just remember to stay strong and you’ll get through 🙂

Amy x

Some helpful agencies and organizations:

Anxiety UK –  0844 477 5774

Anxiety Care UK – 07552 877219

Elefriends – An online community which supports those with mental health problems.

One thought on “Speaking up about Anxiety and Panic Attacks

Leave a Reply

