4 Steps to Dewy Skin | Lipsticks and Biscuits

Spring is definitely my favourite time of year when it comes to makeup – pastel painted nails, coral pink lips and, of course, fresh and glowing skin.

I’m always one for a bit of dewy skin, but spring and summer is the by far the best time to rock it. However, there is a fine line between dewy and downright oily, so I thought I’d share my simple routine for a natural and glowing base.

IMG_2766

IMG_2772

STEP 1: THE MOISTURISER

If you want dewy skin you’re going to have to moisturise well and regularly, but as well as my normal day cream, I like to add some moisture just before I begin my foundation routine. My recent favourite has been the Soap & Glory Bright Here Bright Now Energy Boost Balm – it not only moisturises, but also adds life to the skin, making it feel plumper and more energized. It’s a great one for Monday mornings…

IMG_2773

STEP 2: THE GLOW-GETTING PRIMER

I always like to use a primer – it just helps the makeup sit better – but it works especially well if you want a glowy complexion without having to buy a new foundation. My favourite is the L’Oreal Lumi Magique Primer as it adds a really stunning glow to the complexion with no sign of glitter, and feels really lightweight. It also doesn’t make my face oilier throughout the day which is a bonus.

IMG_2771

STEP 3: THE HIGHLIGHTING CONCEALER

I’m not really one for the whole Kardashian-Kontouring thing, but I like to use a highlighting concealer every now and then, not only to make me look more human, but also because it works great when creating that dewy finish. At the moment I’m using the YSL Touche Eclat which is okay, but I’m not sure if it’s worth the price (I can hear the gasps of beauty bloggers everywhere) so I’d recommend going for the MAC Prep and Prime or the Maybelline one instead.

IMG_2774

STEP 4: THE HIGHLIGHTER

I think this step is pretty obvious, but highlighter is your best friend here. I prefer liquid highlighters if I’m honest, they give a more wet look to the face (without being weird) and I think are much more natural. My holy grail is definitely the Benefit High Beam. It’s the perfect pink-champagne tone  for my skin and blends in so well, I’d definitely recommend!

So that’s how I achieve dewy and fresh skin for the spring time. Hopefully this helped, and if you have any other products to recommend leave them down below! I love a good glowy product 😉

Amy x

One thought on “4 Steps to Dewy Skin | Lipsticks and Biscuits

Leave a Reply

