Ultimate ‘Blondie’ Brownies

Over the last few weeks I’ve developed a bit of a baking obsession – *translation* the other day I was genuinely awake until 2 in the morning watching Cupcake Jemma videos…

When I watched her Blondies video last night I just knew I had to try them out. I love brownies enough, but white chocolate brownies?! Heaven. I am really happy with how they turned out  – super gooey with a slightly nutty rich taste which I just love.

IMG_3069

IMG_3073

INGREDIENTS:

170g unsalted butter

100g white chocolate

100g milk chocolate

280g soft light brown sugar

225g plain flour

1tsp baking powder

1/2tsp salt

2 eggs

1tbsp vanilla extract

IMG_3071

METHOD:

1. The first step is a technique which I took from Jemma’s video, which was to brown the butter. I’d never done it before, but it was actually ridiculously easy! Melt the butter in a pan on a low heat and then turn up the heat and boil until the butter gets a warm almost caramel-like colour. This adds a nutty, rich flavour to the brownies and tastes amazing!

2. Whilst the butter is browning, combine the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, and salt – and also add the vanilla extract to the eggs.

3. Once the browned butter has cooled slightly, add the sugar and whisk until just combined. Then whisk in the eggs, and lightly fold in the flour.

4. Now it’s time to add the chocolate – I used both white and milk chocolate, however you can vary this with different types of chocolate or even chopped nuts. Bake for 20-25 minutes (for a nice and gooey texture!) at 170°C. 

When they’re done, they should have a golden brown top and be gooey/fudgy in the middle. My favourite way to eat these is warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but they also taste great with a few slices of banana (if you’re trying to make them somewhat guilt-free!)

Let me know if you try these out!

Amy x

5 thoughts on “Ultimate ‘Blondie’ Brownies

Leave a Reply

