How To: Christmas Party Makeup

This week I’m excited to be doing my first ever blog collaboration with the lovely Olivia from Describe Beauty – she has a lovely blog which covers product reviews, skincare and much more, so if you’re not already following her I’d highly recommend you do!

As we’ve well and truly hit the party season, we decided to put together two party makeup looks perfect for that Christmas Do’ or New Year’s Party.

IMG_3637.JPG

When it comes to makeup for a night out or a special event, I like to use tried and tested products that I know will last all night. But as well as using some old favourites, I’ve also thrown in a few newbies that I’ve been loving the past week.

IMG_3640.JPG

BASE:

Base makeup is key for any party look – you spent time and effort perfecting that foundation, you want it to last! And to make it last, you need a good primer. For this look I used Rimmel’s Lasting Finish Primer, which creates a smooth and slightly tacky base which really holds the foundation in place.

I chose to go with my trusty Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation next, because although it’s not the most long wearing foundation, I love the radiant finish that it gives and really feel my best when I wear this – which is the point of party makeup! Anyway, when mixed with the Rimmel primer this isn’t going anywhere.

And finally to cover up any other imperfections I used my Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer, perfect for both under eye circles and blemishes, this stuff blends in like a dream and has seriously good lasting power. A huge favourite of mine for this party season!

IMG_3641.JPG

EYES:

I wanted the eyes to be the focus of this look, so I went for the Max Factor Excess Shimmer Cream Eyeshadow in the shade Copper, which actually isn’t copper at all! It’s more of a purply taupe which is just gorgeous on it’s own, but to amp up the purply tones I went in with YDK from the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette just on the outer corners.

Next I added some winged eyeliner, using my holy grail Collection Fast Stroke, and then used a new mascara I’ve been testing out. I bought the Flormar Spider Lash Mascara while I was in Barcelona last week and so far I am loving it. It creates such full and defined lashes perfect for a dramatic look – if you can get hold of it I’d definitely recommend!

IMG_3642.JPG

LIPS & CHEEKS:

I didn’t want to do too much to the cheeks seeing as the eyes are pretty dramatic, so I went for Rimmel’s Santa Rose Blush which creates a lovely peachy flush that’s nice and natural, but just adds some warmth back into the skin. And obviously if we’re doing a party look we need a good highlight, and my favourite is this gorgeous champagne shade from the Makeup Revolution Ultra Sculpt and Contour Kit – it’s the perfect tone and gives some serious highlight without being overly glittery or chunky. Super cheap and seriously good.

And finally for the lips I went with a simple nude pink to balance out the look, lining my lips with Rimmel’s Lip Liner in East End Snob, and then going in with their Only One Lipstick in It’s A Keeper. If I need a long lasting lipstick that packs a punch, I know Rimmel has my back.

So that’s it for my party makeup look! Go and check out Olivia’s post if you haven’t already, it’ll be interesting to see which products we’ve both picked 🙂

Amy x

3 thoughts on “How To: Christmas Party Makeup

Leave a Reply

