Christmas Biscuits

It’s no secret that I’m a bit of a biscuit fanatic (hence the name), and this year I’ve rustled up a little Christmas-y version of my favourite snack…

The recipe is based on a simple ‘sugar cookie’ type biscuit, however to make them a tad more festive I added some ginger and nutmeg which turned out to be delicious. Obviously these extra flavours are optional, but I do recommend them!

IMG_3679

The best part about making these biscuits is decorating them – I love getting all creative with icing, and I think these turned out to be really cute. I used royal icing as it’s much better for this type of decorating, and I even included a little cheats’ recipe for those of you who want to give it a try!

IMG_3667

INGREDIENTS:

75g unsalted butter (at room temperature)

100g soft light brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

220g plain flour

1 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

For the Royal Icing:

225g icing sugar

1 egg white

food colouring of choice

IMG_3671.jpg

METHOD:

  1. Start by creaming together the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy. Then, add the egg and vanilla extract gradually. Sift in the dry ingredients and combine to make a soft dough. Wrap in clingfilm and leave in the fridge to chill for about 30 minutes.
  2. Preheat your oven to 180°C and line two baking trays. Sprinkle some flour onto a clean surface and roll out your dough to a 1/2 cm thickness. Cut out your shapes and simply place on the baking trays, bake for 10-12 minutes until golden brown.
  3. Once your biscuits are out of the oven and cooling, it’s time to prepare your icing. To make royal icing, gradually add the icing sugar to the egg white, whisking in between, until you have a thick and glossy mixture. If you need to, add a drop of water if the mixture becomes too dry. Then simply, decorate!

IMG_3677

I always love baking at this time of year, and I have a lot more treats to make this week in preparation for the big day. If you’re looking for some more festive bakes to try, I’ve put together a Pinterest board full of inspiration – go pin to your heart’s content!

Let me know if you try these out, I hope you enjoy!

Amy x

Leave a Reply

