Frances Quinn’s ‘Quintessential Baking’ | My New Inspiration

You’ve probably guessed this by now, but I am obsessed with the Great British Bake Off. And when one of my favourite ever contestants, the lovely Frances Quinn, released her very own book I was ridiculously excited.

IMG_3820.jpg

There’s something very special about Frances’ style of baking – she’s one of the most creative and innovative bakers I’ve ever known. From bonfire cupcakes to brick wall brownies, and cute little bumble bee cupcakes, each of her bakes are unique and special. And reading this book, it’s so inspiring how passionate she is about pushing the boundaries of traditional baking.

IMG_3821.jpg

And it’s not just the concept of her book that earns my star of approval, but also the amount of detail and work that has gone into this book. It’s laid out in sections for each type of cake – chocolate, lemon, carrot etc. – and each section has a basic starting point recipe, then going o to show you how to transform a simple recipe into a work of art.

IMG_3829.jpg

She even includes handy tables for different size variations and oven types, which removes the hassle of having guess yourself. She literally has thought of everything, even the sleeve of the book transforms into a ruler full of useful measurements and guides – genius!

The whole aesthetic of this book just speaks to me – as well as being colourful and playful, it’s also simple and practical. Frances has done such a great job with her first book, and I’m so excited to see what else she comes up with!

And if you don’t already, I’d highly recommend that you follow Frances on Instagram – I’m constantly stalking her baking expeditions, I’m turning into her fan girl…

Amy x

2 thoughts on “Frances Quinn’s ‘Quintessential Baking’ | My New Inspiration

Leave a Reply

