Back to Basics: The Victoria Sandwich

Sometimes it’s nice to get back to the basics, so when my boyfriend mentioned out of the blue his love for a Victoria Sponge early this morning, we quickly rushed out to buy ingredients…

victoria 1.jpg

It may be simple, but there’s a reason that it’s called a classic. Soft sponge paired with sharply sweet jam and lightly whipped double cream makes for the perfect treat, and the dusting of icing sugar on top makes it look just as delicious as it tastes.

victoria 2

The recipe I reached for this morning was one by Mary Berry – my go-to when it comes to classic/traditional bakes – and although I used the same ingredients, I chose to go with my own preferred method. Nothing against Mary, I’m just very particular when it comes to sponges!

I know it may seem too easy or boring, but a Victoria is such an underrated dessert, and can be easily jazzed up with various fruit and filling combinations! I’ll leave the recipe I used below just in case any of you fancy it.

victoria 3.jpg

INGREDIENTS:

225g margarine, or very soft unsalted butter

225g caster sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

225g self-raising flour

2 tsp baking powder

100ml double cream

strawberry jam (as much as you desire!)

METHOD:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease/line two round baking tins.
  2. Mary’s method was a chuck-it-all-in-at-once kind of job, but I prefer a more methodic approach to get a light sponge. I began by creaming together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, and in a separate bowl I then whisked together the eggs and vanilla. I added the egg mixture in gradually until smooth, and then folded in the flour and baking powder carefully with a spatula.
  3. Next I split the mixture as evenly as possible between two tins, and then baked for 20-22 minutes until golden brown and springy to touch (basically, it springs back when you touch it!)
  4. While you let the sponges cool, whip the cream until it’s nice and thick. Make sure that the sponges are cool enough before assembling, otherwise the cream will melt all over the place! The assembly is completely up to choice, I went with a generous layer of cream and then lathered the jam on top, and finished with a light dusting of icing sugar on top.

I hope you enjoy! I’m off to sneak another slice before it’s all gone…

Amy x

5 thoughts on “Back to Basics: The Victoria Sandwich

Leave a Reply

