Five New Beauty Bits

This month has been a very spendy one so far – I can’t control myself! – and with a lack of self control comes a lot of new makeup to play with. And I have to say, I’ve done pretty well!

IMG_3907.jpg

1. Bourjois Happy Light Luminous Serum Primer – £10.99

Recently my skin’s been feeling a bit dull and dry, so I’d been on the look out for an illuminating primer without the hefty price tag, and I’ve found it in Bourjois’ Happy Light Serum Primer.

I love everything about this product – it brightens the complexion with more of a ‘glow from within’ finish than a standard shimmer, and the texture is moisturising but still light on the skin. I also love the packaging – it feels so much more expensive than it is, and is a real gem from the drugstore.

2. L’Oreal True Match Concealer – £6.99

I’ve been using the True Match Foundation for a while now, so when I heard several bloggers praising it’s matching concealer I was eager to give it a try. And honestly, my reaction was pretty much the same as with the foundation. Nice coverage, blends in okay, good sturdy packaging – it ticks all the boxes, but it’s nothing mind-blowing. Worth a try if you’re on a budget though!

IMG_3908.jpg

3. Sleek Face Contour Kit in Light – £6.49

Another product which I’ve heard people raving about for a while now is Sleek’s Contour Kit. I’m not really a huge fan of contouring personally, I feel like it just looks too fake and out of place on my skin. What I do love using this product for though is a subtle overall bronze.

The neutral, matte tone is perfect for adding some shape and warmth back into my complexion and it blends really beautifully. As for the highlighter, it’s much more subtle than I was expecting, but it’s actually quite nice for everyday. A great budget palette!

4. Topshop Lip Liner in Beestung – £5.00

When I picked this up a few weeks ago, I was expecting a nude everyday lip liner. But when I left the artificial lighting of the Topshop store I realised it was a completely different shade to what I thought. It’s almost a brick shade with a hint of nude – a very unique shade which I actually really love. The formula and texture is really great, and this has quickly become a staple in my makeup bag.

IMG_3910.jpg

5. Bourjois Poudre de Riz de Java – £9.99

And lastly is a unique product which I have been loving using. It’s basically a very finely milled translucent powder which not only sets the skin but also highlights – very similar to the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder concept. This product just feels really expensive – the packaging is right up my alley and really well designed, the scent is gorgeous and it feels so nice to apply. It adds a subtle glow to the skin which is just really natural, this is a great product and I would pay a lot more than £10 for it – it’s a real bargain!

So that’s the makeup that I’ve been trying out recently, I wouldn’t be surprised if I end up buying more before the month is through though…I think I have a problem!

Amy x

6 thoughts on “Five New Beauty Bits

Leave a Reply

