The Avocado Brownie Experiment

I had a bit of an experiment with this week’s bake…

IMG_3966.jpg

Yesterday I woke up feeling very rubbish and, honestly, fat. I wanted to bake something but didn’t feel like I could handle the guilt that comes with eating it afterwards. So after googling all sorts of crap like ‘healthy cupcakes’, ‘low fat chocolate’ and ‘no guilt cookies’ I came across the world of avocado baking.

I haven’t really had much experience with avocado other than a pot of Tesco’s guacamole, so I was intrigued when I read about bloggers substituting it for butter in their baking. So, I decided to do a little avocado experiment, and thought that I’d take you along with me.

IMG_3970.jpg

Here is the recipe that I used…

INGREDIENTS:

200g chocolate (I used all dark, but now recommend mixing in some milk)

2 ripe avocados

1  cup (200g) caster sugar

4 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup (60g) cocoa powder

1/2 cup ground almonds

1/2 cup (70g) plain flour (can be substituted with ground almonds)

1/4 tsp salt

METHOD:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a square/rectangular baking tin.
  2. Begin by melting the chocolate in a bain-marie – in a bowl placed over a pan of simmering water – and leave to cool.
  3. In a large bowl, mash the avocados until smooth. You may want to use a blender to erase any lumps (lumps of avocado don’t taste so great in brownies!) Then add the sugar and cream until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix until well combined.
  4. Once the chocolate has cooled, gradually stir it into the avocado mixture. Then stir in the cocoa powder, ground almonds, plain flour and the salt.
  5. Pour the batter into your tin, level the surface and bake for 25-30 minutes. When it’s done, a skewer should come out almost clean.

IMG_3972.jpg

I have to say, I’m really surprised with how these turned out. I was a little skeptical about the avocado but it actually works very well as a replacement for butter – the brownie was still deliciously moist and fudgy, and you could barely tell it was in there.

The original recipe used ground almonds in place of flour, but I chose to go with half almonds half flour, just because I wasn’t sure how the almonds would taste combined with the avocado. I think next time I’ll just use all plain flour, but it’s good to know if you’re intolerant.

Another thing that I’ll be changing next time is the chocolate. I went for all dark chocolate, but this ended up tasting slightly too dark and bitter. I’ll be using half dark and half milk for next time.

But overall, this was quite a success! Although my boyfriend is refusing to eat these…oh well, more for me!

Amy x

6 thoughts on “The Avocado Brownie Experiment

  1. Hi Amy, I’ve made loads of avo & choc brownies before and my advice would be don’t drop the chocolate but only add 1 avocado and replace the other with a banana instead. The avocado is actually what’s making it bitter not the chocolate I think! Good luck for next time x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

