Revlon Ultra HD Matte Lip Colours | Review & Swatches

It seems as though the liquid lipstick craze has no intention of slowing down soon, and I’m happy to see more drugstore brands stepping into the mix, giving us more affordable options to experiment with.

IMG_4109.jpg

I have to be honest, I’m a bit of a liquid lipstick rookie, as these are the only ones I’ve tried properly. But after testing these out, I’m intrigued to dip my toe in a little further.

It seems as though Revlon has been a bit quiet recently in terms of new releases, so it’s nice to see them finally branching out with a new, on-trend collection. With 8 colours in the range at £8.99, the Ultra HD Matte Lip Colours claim to provide high definition, matte colour with a ‘moisturising velvety feel’. They also have a 100% wax-free, gel formula which is supposed to give a more lightweight feel to the lipsticks.

IMG_4111.jpg

The lip colours come in a frosted tube with silver detailing, which I think looks very sleek and stood out to me on the display, however they’re not the most compact.

It comes with a doe-foot applicator that I’m not a huge fan of – it’s a bit of an awkward shape which makes it difficult to get a neat application, and is slightly rough meaning that it takes a bit of blending to get a smooth layer of colour.

One thing I really do like is the scent. I noticed the mango and vanilla fragrance as soon as I swatched them in store, and admittedly it played a big part in my decision to pick them up. It really is a gorgeous scent and is very pleasant whilst applying.

IMG_4115.jpg

Now on to the individual shades. The three colours I picked up are ‘Seduction’, ‘Devotion’ and ‘Passion’ – a nude, a pink and a deep red, which I felt would cover all bases.

The formulas are a little hit and miss between shades, as pigmentation and texture seemed to change with each one.

IMG_4116

IMG_4117.jpg

SEDUCTION

This is my clear favourite out of the three – the perfect brown/pink nude that’s perfect for everyday wear. The formula is great on this one, it glides on really nicely, has even pigmentation (although isn’t as pigmented as the others) and sits on the lips really well without settling into fine lines.

I wore this to work yesterday and it lasted through my five hour shift, which is a big thumbs up. If you do pick any of these up, I’d recommend this one.

IMG_4127

IMG_4128

DEVOTION

A lovely pink that’s perfect for spring/summer. As you can tell from the swatches this one is more pigmented and goes on to the lips really well. However, this has a bit of shine to it, so isn’t exactly a matte but more of a satin I would say.

It stills lasts really nicely and feels comfortable on the lips, but towards the end of the day I did notice it starting to bleed a little bit at the edges of my lips which wasn’t ideal. Especially considering that these bolder shades tend to stain quite easily, you’d definitely need an oil based makeup remover.

I do like this colour, I’m just not sure if it’s totally me. I’ll do my best to try and wear it though.

IMG_4129IMG_4130

PASSION

This was the shade that I was really disappointed by. I found it really difficult to apply (as you can probably tell from the lip swatch photo), as the applicator just made things really messy and the pigmentation on this one is very uneven. It was all just too much hassle.

Although the colour is nice it still didn’t dry down to a matte, which is what it claims to be, so that was another disappointment. This also meant that it smudged quite a bit, and I ended up taking it off after only an hour. If you can’t already tell, I’d definitely give this shade a miss.

So although I like the nude shade very much, overall the collection didn’t really meet my expectations. It seems that there are many better options out there, which I will definitely be testing out in the near future. If you have any recommendations that would be great!

Amy x

3 thoughts on “Revlon Ultra HD Matte Lip Colours | Review & Swatches

Leave a Reply

