Makeup of the Month: May

Recently I’ve felt as if I needed a bit more regularity on this blog, and a new series is always a great way to do that. So today I’m officially starting my ‘Makeup of the Month’ series.

Basically a round-up of the products I’ve been using the most throughout the month – whether it be glowy skin and pinky lips, or bold liner and lashes, I think it’s a nice way to share my favourites whilst also documenting the way my makeup changes throughout the seasons. Hopefully it will also encourage me to shake up my routine a bit more!

IMG_4240.jpg

This month has definitely been a ‘less is more’ kind of month. With the weather finally starting to brighten up and spring colours in full bloom, I’ve been ditching the heavy stuff and going for light, glowy bases, shimmery eyes and pink lips and cheeks.

There are some new products in this list, and also some holy grail favourites aswell. I won’t go on too much about the new ones, mainly because I’ve got reviews planned in the next few weeks – keep your eyes peeled!

IMG_4242.jpg

BASE:

L’Oreal True Match Foundation in ‘1N’ – I’ve finally picked up the newly formulated version of my drugstore favourite, and so far I’m loving it! Gives a nice medium coverage, blends into the skin and lasts all day – thumbs up from me.

Bourjois Radiance Reveal Concealer in’01 Ivory’ – I’m working on a review for this one next week so I won’t give too much away, but as a hint – I’m liking it so far!

Bourjois Poudre de Riz de Java – I’ve gone on about this so much already, but in short; a lovely loose setting powder that brightens and adds a nice and natural glow.

EYES/BROWS:

Anastasia Brow Wiz in ‘Medium Brown’ – I’ve been loving using this to create softly defined, natural looking brows. The tiny nib is so easy to imitate natural brow hairs, and it also lasts really well too. I can see what the hype is about!

Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette – I definitely haven’t been giving this palette enough love this year, so I plan to use this a lot more throughout May. My most used shades so far are ‘Suspect’ and ‘Verve’ – mixed together they make a really pretty bronze-y champagne shade that looks great as a wash over the lid.

L’Oreal False Lash Sculpt Mascara – Another one I don’t want to talk about too much, but oh my god this stuff works volume/definition miracles!

LIPS/CHEEKS:

L’Oreal Le Blush in ‘Sandalwood Pink’ – A lovely slightly peachy pink that has the perfect amount of subtle shimmer. Really brightens the complexion and adds a lovely rosy glow. I’ve used this everyday so far!

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in ‘Pink in the Afternoon’ – This has become a pretty popular shade amongst beauty bloggers recently and it’s not hard to see why. A lovely peachy pink that’s perfect for everyday wear, sits really comfortably on the lips and proudly in my handbag. Definitely recommend this if you’re on the hunt for a new spring lipstick!

IMG_4238.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this new little series! What makeup have you been loving this month?

Amy x

2 thoughts on “Makeup of the Month: May

Leave a Reply

