A Little Book Haul | Lipsticks & Biscuits

When I was younger I was an avid reader – I could finish a book in a day, maybe even a few hours, and was constantly looking for new authors and series to get my hands on. However, once exams and revision turned up, reading-for-fun went out of the window and it unfortunately become more of a chore.

IMG_4255.jpg

But now that I have the time (and the motivation!) I really want to get back into reading. I spend way too much time online, and swapping late night YouTube marathons for a good book is much better for both my sleep pattern and my frazzled brain!

So the other night I placed a rather spontaneous Amazon order after reading a Buzzfeed post on books about mental health. It’s a topic that I relate to and am very interested in, so I couldn’t help but order a few of them immediately!

Unfortunately I’ve only just started on these, so I can’t give you my thoughts yet. But I will include the blurbs so you can get a sense of what each one’s about – let me know if you’d like an update post once I’ve finished these!

IMG_4253.jpg

My Heart & Other Black Holes, Jasmine Warga – ‘A brilliant and heartbreaking new novel for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park, about two strangers who want to die… and, in meeting each other, learn how to live.’

The Catcher in the Rye, J.D. Salinger – This book has been on my list for years! So excited to get stuck into this – ‘Written with the clarity of a boy leaving childhood behind, The Catcher in the Rye explores the world with disarming frankness and a warm, affecting charisma which has made this novel a universally loved classic of twentieth-century literature.’

The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath – I studied some of Plath’s poetry during my English Lit. A Level, and have been intrigued by this book ever since. It is partially based on Plath’s own struggles with mental illness, and tackles depression, difficult relationships and society’s restrictions on female writers. Another book that I can’t wait to read!

Every Last Word, Tamara Island Stone – This is the only one of the four that I’ve started so far, and it’s so relatable to me that it’s almost difficult to read. It follows Sam, a seemingly normal and popular girl who secretly battles with OCD and constant dark thoughts/anxieties. A great read for younger audiences going through their own mental struggles, or even to enlighten those who have no experience of these issues.

I hope you enjoyed this little book haul. It’s a little bit different for me, but it’s nice to mix things up a bit now and then! And do let me know if you have any other recommendations.

Amy x

2 thoughts on “A Little Book Haul | Lipsticks & Biscuits

Leave a Reply

