The Skincare Shelf

Remember a few weeks ago in my Feel Unique Haul when I said I’d give you a little update on how I’m getting on with some new skincare bits and bobs? Well today is the day my friends.

IMG_4590.jpg

As I mentioned, I have been making a conscious effort to take better care of my skin recently. I’ve invested in some higher quality products and have been getting into a proper skincare routine rather than just taking off my makeup and heading straight to bed.

I’ve actually added to this little collection of skincare goodies in the last week – I’ll update you as I get more familar, but as a hint, they’re both from Kiehl’s!

IMG_4592.jpg

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream – £9

When I popped this into my basket, I was hoping for a rich, creamy moisturiser that would hydrate my dull and dry skin – and luckily I wasn’t disappointed. This just seems to work with my skin like nothing else I’ve tried, and after using this at night I wake up with baby soft skin. The ingredients include colloidal oatmeal, shea butter, eucalyptus oil and ceramides, all there to help sooth and hydrate distressed skin.

This has become a staple in my night-time routine, and can also be used on the body if I’m in a pinch. I would highly recommend this to anyone with dry/sensitive skin, and I’m excited to try more of their products!

Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask – £24

Maybe I haven’t really given this enough of a go, but I’m just not 100% sure about this mask. I bought it after seeing rave reviews from the likes of Vivianna Does Makeup, and was hoping for a product that would give a boost of hydration and that I would wake up with amazing skin. Unfortunately, I just haven’t seen much of a difference so far.

Another thing to point out: when applying this my skin feels slightly tingly, but not in a good way. Almost like it’s being irritated? I’m not sure what it is, but it’s put me off using this. It’s a shame, but I just can’t see the hype with this one unfortunately.

St Tropez Everyday Gradual Tan in Light/Medium – £14.50

I am just in love with this stuff at the moment. As someone who’s always been ghostly pale but never had the confidence or time to properly fake tan, this has been a god send. It’s just so easy to use – after every shower I apply this evenly all over my body working in sections, allow it 2-3 minutes to dry, whack on some pyjamas while I get ready and that’s it.

It’s the ultimate lazy girl tanning routine, and actually gives great results. If I use this regularly I get an even, natural looking tan with no streaks or orange patches. Another bonus is that the scent is actually quite nice with this one and not at all ‘biscuit-y’! If you’re a little scared to dip your toe into the world of fake tanning, give this one a try first – it’s fool proof.

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cleanser – £15

I’ve fallen head over heels with Kiehl’s this month. If this amazing discovery wasn’t enough, I had a lovely experience at one of their counters last week which just sold me completely. If you’re looking to step up your skincare game but don’t want to go completely bank-rupt, Kiehl’s is great place to start.

Their products are so simple and easy to use, but contain amazing ingredients that really work with my skin and make it feel the best it’s ever been. This cleanser was the first product I tried, and it was instant love. It lathers up really nicely, has a light fresh scent, and I feel as though it leaves my skin spotless, but never dried out. Which is a rare occurrence with cleansers!

If you haven’t tried any of their products I highly recommend them! I’ve become a bit of a fan girl in all honesty…

Amy x

Leave a Reply

