New Chapters

It’s been so long since I sat down and written a post. I don’t even know why my little blogging break happened – I swear August lasted like five minutes?

Anyway, I’m sat down with a bowl of cocoa pops, I’ve got The Little Mermaid on the telly and I’m snuggled up on the sofa in my pyjamas ready to get back into this whole blogging malarkey. Yes it’s 7.30am and this is not my usual morning routine, however I woke up with horrendous cramps (sorry if that’s TMI) and felt I deserved to indulge in some guilty pleasures.

d99a3df261220d3764cd5f8980b58d1b

Right, onto the actual topic of this post. There’s going to be a lot of changes for me in September – I’m finally off to start Uni and freshers and being independent/skint. And I’m half excited and half bricking it.

Part of me is aching to get away and start pursuing the career that I want, to meet new people with the same interests and dreams, and to grow into the person that I want to be. But the other part of me – the annoying, anxious, and shy part – is absolutely bloody terrified.

And for once I’m not really beating myself up for being anxious this time, because this is a big deal. I’m moving to a completely new city with completely new people, an hour away from my parents and my boyfriend. Anyone would be nervous, so I’m letting myself worry a lil bit, but not too much.

The part that worries me the most about this whole departure is the meeting new people. I’ve found myself absolutely dreading that first day moving in – the painfully awkward small talk, having to go and knock on people’s doors. As a painfully shy person, this scenario is a complete nightmare and I would sooner jump off a cliff. Well, maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but you get the jist.

I’m trying to focus on the exciting parts rather than the scary parts – it’s not going all that well so far, but I’m at least trying. I just can’t believe how quick my gap year has gone, it feels like only yesterday that I picked up my results!

Oh god this is such a rambly, all-over-the-place post, I sincerely apologise. I guess what I wanted to say is that things are changing a lot for me, which means things will probably change on here too. I want to keep blogging, but I feel as though my content will probably change with me. I can’t promise regular posts as we all know the student lifestyle doesn’t really provide much spare time, but I will do my best to keep this little space updated, even if it’s just a hormonal ramble like this one (you’re welcome!)

Anyway, thank you for staying with me. I really appreciate it! And if any of you are off to Uni this month aswell, I’m sending lots of luck and hugs your way ❤

Amy x

7 thoughts on “New Chapters

  1. I’ve just finished university, and (all those years ago!) like you I was pretty nervous about starting. Best advice I can give is to find a few societies encompassing your hobbies, and just put yourself out there (even if it scares you a bit at the time) – try anything that takes your fancy, and say yes to everything within reason. As my course was so huge (200+ people doing varying degrees involving French), I found societies were a great way of meeting people with similar interests! Good luck with the transition to student life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

