(I’m Back!) My Go-to Uni Makeup

It feels so weird to be back on here! Hello!

I wasn’t really planning on taking a break from my blog and YouTube, but as those of you who have been through your first semester of Uni will understand, things have been slightly hectic as of late.

I was expecting a nice, easy, smooth transition into assignments and essays, but it all just kind of happened at once for me. The last few weeks I’ve spent every spare moment either in the library or asleep, and so there hasn’t really been much opportunity for blogging.

But I’ve managed to squeeze half an hour out of my revision day – I’m in the midst of exams currently and I’m slowly losing my mind/sanity – to show you the makeup that I’ve been wearing practically everyday.

IMG_4778.JPG

I’ve definitely noticed a massive change in my makeup since I’ve moved here. It’s much more minimal and natural – partly because I just don’t have the time or energy to put in as much effort as before, and partly because I’ve just been enjoying a less heavy look.

I never used to stick to a routine with my makeup, but now I wear pretty much the same thing every single day, and I’ve got my routine down to ten minutes (which I have to say I’m pretty impressed with).

Okay so enough with the rambling – you can tell I’ve not written on here in a while! – let’s show you what I’ve been reaching for the last few months…

IMG_4780.JPG

BASE:

Literally as soon as Fresher’s week was over I ran out of my Nars Sheer Glow – I had never used up an entire foundation before, so you can tell I seriously loved the stuff. But, as I’m now on a *ahem* slightly tighter budget, I decided to pick up something new from Boots to try.

In the end I went for the Max Factor Skin Luminizer Miracle Foundation, in the hope of an effortlessly glowing and radiant base. Honestly, I’m not head over heels. It’s not really that glowy at all – I’d say more of a satin finish – and takes a little bit more blending than I’m used to. But, hey, I spent the money and I’m using this up to the last drop!

Now onto the products that I actually love – you won’t be surprised to hear that I’m still loving my Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer. I’m getting towards the end of my second bottle and am dreading the day that it runs out. It gives amazing yet natural coverage and blends in seamlessly – would definitely recommend for paler skin tones too!

And then to set everything I’m currently using the Soap & Glory One Heck of A Blot Powder which I’ve been really enjoying. Nice and natural on the skin but still keeps everything in place.

IMG_4781.JPG

EYES/BROWS:

Now this is where things have really changed. I used to feel naked without a flick of liquid eyeliner, but recently I’ve been going super minimal with just mascara. I know, what’s happened to me?

If I feel like a bit of colour I’ll use one of the gorgeous shimmery shades from my Max Factor Cappuccino Nudes Palette – review here – or just a little bit of bronzer in the crease.

But most of the time I’ve just been using my L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes Excess Mascara, which I actually quite like. It gives super fluttery lashes, but can tend to be a bit spidery if you go overboard – definitely not one for layering!

And for brows I’m still loving the Benefit Precisely My Brow Pencil for adding some definition to arches. Nothing too fancy, just makes me feel a little bit more human in the early mornings.

IMG_4783.JPG

CHEEKS/LIPS:

If I’m looking a bit pasty – which is pretty much always – I like to add a tiny bit of my Body Shop Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder in the shade 01. This is just the perfect shade for lighter skinned girls – it blends in so seamlessly and gives a natural warmth to skin without looking really obvious. Plus I really like the packaging – the honeycomb effect is so cute!

I also like to add a little pop of blush some days if I have some extra time. The only one I brought with me is the Max Factor Creme Puff Blush in Lovely Pink which gives the perfect flush of colour and radiance to the cheeks.

For highlight I just use the light, shimmery shade from the Max Factor palette, and then I finish off with some lip balm. If I’m feeling a bit fancy though, I’ll reach for my favourite Bobbi Brown Lipstick in Blondie Pink, which is the perfect brown-nude-pink.

IMG_4791.JPG

And so that’s my go-to makeup look for Uni. It’s really simple and easy to do, and just makes me feel slightly more presentable when I stumble into a 9am lecture every Monday morning (those are really fun btw).

Having limited space for makeup has actually made me really use up and appreciate the products I have in my one makeup bag, it’s nice to be using things up for a change!

If you have any ideas for posts you’d like to see from me – perhaps some Uni or Christmas posts? – then feel free to let me know in the comments. I’m not promising regular content as I’m certain I won’t be able to keep that up for very long, but I’d like to give it my best shot.

Thanks for sticking with me!

Amy x

4 thoughts on “(I’m Back!) My Go-to Uni Makeup

Leave a Reply

