A New Home in Bath

I honestly don’t know where the time has gone. It’s January, all of my deadlines and exams are (thankfully) done and dusted, and at last I have a chance to relax and reflect on my first few months at Uni.

img_4821

It hasn’t been an easy ride that’s for sure. It was a big struggle being away from my family and long term boyfriend, and the thought of being surrounded by new people and new places terrified me. On top of that, the work load definitely knocked me for six. When they say it’s a massive jump from GCSE to A Level, it’s a gigantic leap when you move up to University.

I survived it, though. My first term is over and, although my brain is slightly fried and I’ve spent the last few days in bed “recovering”, I feel really proud of what I’ve achieved.

IMG_4820.jpg

Moving to place is always going to be an adjustment, but Bath has thankfully made the transition so much smoother for me.

I fell in love with the city as soon as I stepped foot on the cobblestones. It’s one of those places which is busy and full of life, but calm at the same time. As someone who often feels panicky and anxious in crowded places, I always feel completely at home here.

IMG_4830.jpg

I’ve been so occupied by revision and essays that I still hadn’t explored much of my new home. So when my Nanny & Grandad came to visit this weekend and asked if we could take a bus tour around the city, I grabbed my camera and we set off.

IMG_4824.jpg

I didn’t manage to take loads of great shots – most of them were blocked by the bus railing or blurry thanks to my frostbitten hands (definitely should have brought gloves!) – but it’s inspired me to take my camera out a bit more and appreciate the city that I’m lucky enough to live in.

And before I sign off, Happy New Year everyone!

I hope your year has had a great start, and thank you for sticking with me even though I really have been awful at this whole blogging malarkey. I plan on changing that very soon!

Amy x

Leave a Reply

