8 Hours in London

Yesterday my boyfriend, Lew, and I went on a spontaneous day trip to London. Last week we had been thinking about what to do during my last week home before the semester starts back at Uni, and we decided to book a coach to the Big Smoke.

We only had 8 hours to spare, and we certainly packed in as much as we could – and did a lot of walking.

I’ve done a few trips to London now, but Lew hadn’t been in quite a while and so wanted to tick off a few tourist-y things. Our first trip, however, was to the National History Museum – I’ve never been, and Lew was excited to go again after visiting with his Bamp as a kid. We also did a bit of exploring in Soho and ate some amazing food.

The National History Museum:

IMG_4889.JPG

img_4864

IMG_4882.JPG

I knew it would be good, but honestly I did not expect the museum to be so huge. We spent a good hour and a half in there and I still feel as though there was loads more to do and see.

I loved that a lot of the exhibitions were interactive, and the life-like T-Rex was pretty impressive. I would definitely go again – but maybe next time not on a weekday, school kids everywhere!

Playing the Tourists:

IMG_4900.JPG

IMG_4904.JPG

IMG_4906.JPG

IMG_5709.JPG

IMG_5710.JPG

Even though I’ve been to London a few times now, I had never seen Buckingham Palace. The long walk is definitely worth it – especially through the beautiful St James’ Park. I’d never realised just how breath-taking the palace really is, and the surrounding area was beautiful too.

We had two other tourist sites to tick off, which included Trafalgar Square and Westminster. We even got to Big Ben just in time for the clock to strike 5 o’clock, which made Lew very happy (bless!).

Soho:

IMG_5701.JPG

IMG_5706.JPG

img_5705

IMG_5704.JPG

My favourite area of London that I’ve explored so far has to be Soho. I just love the slightly more chilled atmosphere on Carnaby Street and all of the quirky little shops and boutiques.

This time I was determined to find Kingly Court – a square full of amazing, independent cafes, restaurants and bars hidden behind the main walkways. As soon as I walked in I knew I’d found a gem. It was also very Instagram-able!

Crumbs and Doilies was at the top of my list to visit here, as I’ve watched Cupcake Jemma’s Youtube videos for years now and scroll through their Instagram daily. It didn’t disappoint – the staff were lovely and really friendly, and there were so many treats that I struggled to choose just one.

In the end I went for the Red Velvet Cupcake, whilst Lew went for the Biscoff Rocky Road which was insanely good. Next time I’m definitely going for a slice of one of their cakes which look so impressive.

Every time I go to London I fall in love with it a little bit more, but when I get home I am glad to be away from the hustle and bustle. It’s an amazing city to visit for a few days, but very exhausting! Any suggestions for where to visit next time? 🙂

I have a review of where we went for lunch coming on Monday, so stay tuned!

Amy x

5 thoughts on “8 Hours in London

  1. Pingback: Stax Diner, Soho

Leave a Reply

