A Few of My Favourite Things

As I was doing my makeup this morning I realised that there are quite a few products in my makeup bag that I haven’t given a mention on my blog at all. Probably because I haven’t had the time to post anything in the last few months.

So I thought that today I’d just showcase a few products that have creeped their way into my daily routine and which really deserve some love (you know, seeing as it’s Valentine’s Day and all that).

IMG_4910.jpg

Charlotte Tilbury’s Light Wonder Foundation, £32

I bought this back in December as a little post-exams treat, as I’d been thinking about investing in this for literally years. It promises a light-as-air, breathable formula that provides ‘perfect coverage’, and also has a lot of skincare benefits which is always a plus.

I have to say, although I like this foundation, I’m not completely and utterly in love with it. It gives a nice glow and looks really natural, but I don’t feel as special as thought I would when I wear this. I think it just lacks a bit in the coverage department. Nevertheless, it’s a good everyday foundation and the packaging is beautiful (and practical!). I just wish it had a bit more oomph.

Morphe Brushes 35OS Palette, £23.50

I was lucky enough to receive this palette as a Christmas gifts from my boyfriend’s parents, and I absolutely love it. All of the shadows are shimmery/glittery, and range from cool to warm tones. The pigmentation is ridiculously good considering the price, and the shadows blend really nicely.

I honestly haven’t had many opportunities to experiment with some of the more ‘out there’ colours – I’m a student after all, I’m lucky if I get time to put on mascara! – but the ones I have tried I use almost daily. The lightest shade in the palette, a beautiful champagne, makes for an amazing highlight aswell. Such a good quality palette if you can get hold of it!

IMG_4912.jpg

L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes Excess Mascara, £9.99

I never realised how extensive L’Oreal’s Volume Million range is before I bought this – there are so many variations! I’m excited to go and try some more out as I really love this mascara.

The ‘Excess’ edition is supposed to give extra volume and definition, which happens to be exactly what I look for in a mascara. I can confirm that it delivers on these promises. It makes my lashes look really big and fluttery without being at all ‘spidery’ or clumpy, and the plastic brush has lots of fine bristles which really catch every lash. It’s perfect for layering with other mascaras and touching up later on in the day, and I just love this. Can you tell?

I also think the packaging is really nice and sleek, as with the rest of the range, and the price point is great considering the quality. Let me know if you can recommend any of the other mascaras in the Volume Million range!

Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Lipstick in ‘Super Nude’, £9

I know that I didn’t really need another nude-pink everyday lipstick, but when I spotted this display I just had to pick something up. Soap & Glory have come out with three new ranges of their Sexy Mother Pucker Lipsticks categorised into Nudes, Pinks and Reds. They also come in three different formulas: ‘Powder-Coat’ Matte, ‘Silk-Coat’ Satin and ‘Glass-Coat’ High Shine. As you can probably tell, it was really hard to pick just one!

After much deliberation, I went for ‘Super Nude’ which is a lovely nude with a hint of pink in the matte formula. I was worried that it would be slightly drying, but the formula of this matte lipstick is just something else. It manages to feel really moisturising and comfortable on the lips, but still has that matte finish. Not to mention it’s the perfect ‘me’ colour, and I feel amazing when I wear this – which is the most important thing!

If you haven’t tried any of the lipsticks from this range I definitely recommend a trip to Boots. Such a good idea and really well executed in my opinion. Plus the colour coordinated  metallic packaging is a massive bonus!

NYX Retractable Lip Liner in ‘Nude’, £5.50

Not the most exciting of products, but whilst on the way to the till to buy the previously mentioned Soap & Glory lipstick, I managed to also stumble upon the perfect nude liner. What a successful trip.

This liner is just the perfect colour to go under any lipstick. The formula is soft enough to be comfortable, but hard enough (for want of a better expression) to stay put and not bleed throughout the day. A basic product but a good one – not to mention affordable!

So that’s it for the current additions to my makeup bag. I apologise as I didn’t mean for this to be such a rambly post – I blame it on the fact that I haven’t chatted makeup in quite a while! Hope you enjoyed!

Amy x

4 thoughts on “A Few of My Favourite Things

  1. I’ve been on the hunt for a good drug store mascara so this is perfect!! And I feel you on the blogging while you’re a student and literally have no time issue. It’s the worst! Time seems to go by so quickly and before I know it it’s been a month since my last post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

